Student Government Overview

Student Government Overview

The ASUU Student Government, much like the United States federal government, consists of an executive branch, a legislative branch, and a judicial branch. These branches work together to accomplish the varied functions of ASUU to serve the student body as effectively as possible.


ASUU Executive Branch Overview

The executive branch is led by the ASUU President, Vice Presidents, and Chief of Staff. It is composed of eleven boards with broad functions, ranging from providing resources to students, advocating for students to administrators, and engaging students in events and programs. Each board is led by a director and associate directors, with assistance from volunteer board members.

ASUU Executive Branch Page


ASUU Legislative Branch Overview

The legislative branch contains the ASUU Student Assembly and Student Senate. The ASUU Assembly is composed of thirty-six student representatives who are elected proportionally from each of the University’s colleges. Assembly representatives allocate funding to the University’s five-hundred student groups and work with the ASUU Senate to speak for the student body.

The ASUU Senate is composed of 18 Senators representing the University’s colleges. Senators lead their respective College Student Councils, represent the students in their colleges on the Academic Senate, allocate funding for college-wide initiatives, and work with the ASUU Assembly to speak for the student body.

ASUU Assembly     ASUU Senate

ASUU Judicial Branch Overview

The judicial branch includes the ASUU Attorney General and the ASUU Supreme Court. The ASUU Attorney General helps the rest of the student government stay in compliance with Redbook, which is the ASUU Constitution and Bylaws. The ASUU Supreme Court resolves disputes that arise within ASUU or between ASUU and another campus entity.

ASUU Judicial Branch



Redbook is the governing document of the ASUU Student Government. It contains the ASUU Constitution and Bylaws, and it provides an overview and instructions for how the various branches, boards, and positions within the ASUU Student Government are supposed to function. Changing Redbook requires approval by two-thirds of the ASUU Assembly and Senate, the ASUU President, by the University Committee on Student Affairs, the University Board of Trustees, and, in some cases, a majority of the student body.