Legislative Senate

LEGISLATIVE Senate

Apply to be a 2022-2023 Senate Representative

Apply

The Senate is one of two houses in ASUU’s legislative branch. The Senate is responsible for representing students by allocating funds to College Student Councils (CSCs), reviewing proposed legislation, overseeing ASUU Executive Branch activities, serving on the University Academic Senate and various University committees, and working on University policy issues that impact students. Senators are elected each spring by the students of the colleges they represent and serve for a term of one year. There are 18 seats in the Senate, each of which represents the University’s different colleges.

Senators additionally chair their colleges’ CSCs, and they serve as the primary student representatives to their colleges’ administrations. Each college has a CSC, and it is responsible for advocating for the students of its college, providing college-wide programming, and recruiting students to the college, among other things.

College Student Councils can receive funding by submitting Budget Requests on Campus Connect and sending the request through the ASUU Senate, with the help of a Senator. Please contact the senator for your college if you need help submitting a Budget Request or understanding the legislative process.

The ASUU Senate has one funding cycle every three weeks.

Senate Agenda  Senate Calendar

Senate Directory


Muskan Walia

Senate Chair; Senator, College of Science
 mwalia@asuu.utah.edu

Muskan Walia

Senate Chair; Senator, College of Science
 mwalia@asuu.utah.edu

Anthony Tenney

Senate Vice Chair, S. J. Quinney College of Law
 ATenney@asuu.utah.edu

Anthony Tenney

Senate Vice Chair, S. J. Quinney College of Law
 ATenney@asuu.utah.edu

Kate Lunnen

Senate Parliamentarian; TRANSFORM
 klunnen@asuu.utah.edu

Kate Lunnen

Senate Parliamentarian; TRANSFORM
 klunnen@asuu.utah.edu

Alyssa Lee

Senator, College of Education
 ALee@asuu.utah.edu

Alyssa Lee

Senator, College of Education
 ALee@asuu.utah.edu

Titus Larrieu

Senator, College of Fine Arts
 tlarrieu@asuu.utah.edu

Titus Larrieu

Senator, College of Fine Arts
 tlarrieu@asuu.utah.edu

Lizabeth Cowgill

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 LCowgill@asuu.utah.edu

Lizabeth Cowgill

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 LCowgill@asuu.utah.edu

VACANT

Senator, College of Architecture and Planning

VACANT

Senator, College of Architecture and Planning

Samuel Judd

Senate Treasurer, College of Humanities
 sjudd@asuu.utah.edu

Samuel Judd

Senate Treasurer, College of Humanities
 sjudd@asuu.utah.edu

Max Hernandez-Nietling

Senator, David Eccles School of Business
 MHernandez-Nietling@asuu.utah.edu

Max Hernandez-Nietling

Senator, David Eccles School of Business
 MHernandez-Nietling@asuu.utah.edu

Holden Cheney

Senator, Undergraduate Students
 hcheney@asuu.utah.edu

Holden Cheney

Senator, Undergraduate Students
 hcheney@asuu.utah.edu

Sarah Lucas

Senator, School of Medicine
 SLucas@asuu.utah.edu

Sarah Lucas

Senator, School of Medicine
 SLucas@asuu.utah.edu

Alek Peterlin

Senator, College of Health
 APeterlin@asuu.utah.edu

Alek Peterlin

Senator, College of Health
 APeterlin@asuu.utah.edu

VACANT

Senator, College of Nursing

VACANT

Senator, College of Nursing

AJ Myers

Senate Secretary, College of Social Work
 AMyers@asuu.utah.edu

AJ Myers

Senate Secretary, College of Social Work
 AMyers@asuu.utah.edu

Janice Darko

Senator, College of Dentistry
 JDarko@asuu.utah.edu

Janice Darko

Senator, College of Dentistry
 JDarko@asuu.utah.edu

Srabani Karmakar

Senator, College of Mines and Earth Sciences
 srabani.karmakar@asuu.utah.edu

Srabani Karmakar

Senator, College of Mines and Earth Sciences
 srabani.karmakar@asuu.utah.edu

Mikaila Mcintyre

Senator, College of Social and Behavioral Studies
 MMcintyre@asuu.utah.edu

Mikaila Mcintyre

Senator, College of Social and Behavioral Studies
 MMcintyre@asuu.utah.edu

Vacant

Senator, College of Engineering

Vacant

Senator, College of Engineering