Legislative Senate

LEGISLATIVE Senate

Apply to be a 2020-2021 Senate Representative

Apply

The Senate is one of two houses in ASUU’s legislative branch. The Senate is responsible for representing students by allocating funds to College Student Councils (CSCs), reviewing proposed legislation, overseeing ASUU Executive Branch activities, serving on the University Academic Senate and various University committees, and working on University policy issues that impact students. Senators are elected each spring by the students of the colleges they represent and serve for a term of one year. There are 18 seats in the Senate, each of which represents the University’s different colleges.

Senators additionally chair their colleges’ CSCs, and they serve as the primary student representatives to their colleges’ administrations. Each college has a CSC, and it is responsible for advocating for the students of its college, providing college-wide programming, and recruiting students to the college, among other things.

College Student Councils can receive funding by submitting Budget Requests on Campus Connect and sending the request through the ASUU Senate, with the help of a Senator. Please contact the senator for your college if you need help submitting a Budget Request or understanding the legislative process.

The ASUU Senate has one funding cycle every three weeks.

Senate Agenda   Senate Schedule

Senate Directory


Gloria Aquino

Senate Chair; Senator, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
 gaquino@asuu.utah.edu

Gloria Aquino

Senate Chair; Senator, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
 gaquino@asuu.utah.edu

Muskan Walia

Senate Treasurer, Senator, College of Science
 mwalia@asuu.utah.edu

Muskan Walia

Senate Treasurer, Senator, College of Science
 mwalia@asuu.utah.edu

Lakshan Lingam

Senator, School for Cultural and Social Transformation
 llingam@asuu.utah.edu

Lakshan Lingam

Senator, School for Cultural and Social Transformation
 llingam@asuu.utah.edu

Titus Larrieu

Senator, College of Fine Arts
 tlarrieu@asuu.utah.edu

Titus Larrieu

Senator, College of Fine Arts
 tlarrieu@asuu.utah.edu

Bradley Hunter

Senator, School of Medicine
 bhunter@asuu.utah.edu

Bradley Hunter

Senator, School of Medicine
 bhunter@asuu.utah.edu

Adrienne Cataxinos

Senate; Senator, College of Architecture + Planning
 acataxinos@asuu.utah.edu

Adrienne Cataxinos

Senate; Senator, College of Architecture + Planning
 acataxinos@asuu.utah.edu

Crystal Wallenius

Senator, School of Dentistry
 cwallenius@asuu.utah.edu

Crystal Wallenius

Senator, School of Dentistry
 cwallenius@asuu.utah.edu

Momina Sial

Senator, College of Humanities
 msial@asuu.utah.edu

Momina Sial

Senator, College of Humanities
 msial@asuu.utah.edu

Sydney Gilliand

Senator, College of Nursing
 sgilliand@asuu.utah.edu

Sydney Gilliand

Senator, College of Nursing
 sgilliand@asuu.utah.edu

Connor Leeming

Senator, David Eccles School of Business
 cleeming@asuu.utah.edu

Douglas Shumway

Senator, S. J. Quinney College of Law
 dshumway@asuu.utah.edu

Douglas Shumway

Senator, S. J. Quinney College of Law
 dshumway@asuu.utah.edu

Emi Radetich

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 eradetich@asuu.utah.edu

Emi Radetich

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 eradetich@asuu.utah.edu

Maeve Wall

Senator, College of Education
 mwall@asuu.utah.edu

Maeve Wall

Senator, College of Education
 mwall@asuu.utah.edu