Legislative Senate

LEGISLATIVE Senate

The Senate is one of two houses in ASUU’s legislative branch. The Senate is responsible for representing students by allocating funds to College Student Councils (CSCs), reviewing proposed legislation, overseeing ASUU Executive Branch activities, serving on the University Academic Senate and various University committees, and working on University policy issues that impact students. Senators are elected each spring by the students of the colleges they represent and serve for a term of one year. There are 18 seats in the Senate, each of which represents the University’s different colleges.

Senators additionally chair their colleges’ CSCs, and they serve as the primary student representatives to their colleges’ administrations. Each college has a CSC, and it is responsible for advocating for the students of its college, providing college-wide programming, and recruiting students to the college, among other things.

College Student Councils can receive funding by submitting Budget Requests on Campus Connect and sending the request through the ASUU Senate, with the help of a Senator. Please contact the senator for your college if you need help submitting a Budget Request or understanding the legislative process.

The ASUU Senate has one funding cycle every three weeks.

Senate Agenda   Senate Schedule

Senate Directory


Damon Ngo

Senate Chair; Senator, David Eccles School of Business
 dngo@asuu.utah.edu

Damon Ngo

Senate Chair; Senator, David Eccles School of Business
 dngo@asuu.utah.edu

Sierra Holmes

Senator, College of Cultural & Social Transformation
 sholmes@asuu.utah.edu

Sierra Holmes

Senator, College of Cultural & Social Transformation
 sholmes@asuu.utah.edu

Avy Thind

Senator, College of Health
 athind@asuu.utah.edu

Avy Thind

Senator, College of Health
 athind@asuu.utah.edu

Khue Nguyen

Senator, College of Nursing
 knguyen@asuu.utah.edu

Khue Nguyen

Senator, College of Nursing
 knguyen@asuu.utah.edu

Devon Cantwell

Senator, College of Social & Behavioral Science
 dcantwell@asuu.utah.edu

Devon Cantwell

Senator, College of Social & Behavioral Science
 dcantwell@asuu.utah.edu

Emily Thomas

Senator, School of Dentistry
 ethomas@asuu.utah.edu

Emily Thomas

Senator, School of Dentistry
 ethomas@asuu.utah.edu

Sabah Sial

Supreme Court Justice
 ssabah@asuu.utah.edu

Sabah Sial

Supreme Court Justice
 ssabah@asuu.utah.edu

Audrey Gallegos

Supreme Court Justice
 agallegos@asuu.utah.edu

Audrey Gallegos

Supreme Court Justice
 agallegos@asuu.utah.edu

Hunter Mansfield

Senate Vice Chair; Senator, College of Engineering
 hmansfield@asuu.utah.edu

Hunter Mansfield

Senate Vice Chair; Senator, College of Engineering
 hmansfield@asuu.utah.edu

Danielle Martinez

Senator, College of Education
 dmartinez@asuu.utah.edu

Danielle Martinez

Senator, College of Education
 dmartinez@asuu.utah.edu

Moira Gary

Senator, College of Humanities
 mgary@asuu.utah.edu

Moira Gary

Senator, College of Humanities
 mgary@asuu.utah.edu

Alan Abbinanti

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 aabbinanti@asuu.utah.edu

Alan Abbinanti

Senator, College of Pharmacy
 aabbinanti@asuu.utah.edu

Sarah Scholes

Senator, College of Social Work
 sscholes@asuu.utah.edu

Sarah Scholes

Senator, College of Social Work
 sscholes@asuu.utah.edu

Maria Velasco

Senator, School of Medicine
 mvelasco@asuu.utah.edu

Maria Velasco

Senator, School of Medicine
 mvelasco@asuu.utah.edu

Varun Selvam

Senator, College of Architecture + Planning
 vsevam@asuu.utah.edu

Varun Selvam

Senator, College of Architecture + Planning
 vsevam@asuu.utah.edu

Amy Cox

Senator, College of Fine Arts
 acox@asuu.utah.edu

Joshua Taylor

Senator, College of Mines and Earth Sciences
 jtaylor@asuu.utah.edu

Rebecca Hardenbrook

Senator, College of Science
 rhardenbrook@asuu.utah.edu

Rebecca Hardenbrook

Senator, College of Science
 rhardenbrook@asuu.utah.edu

Ben Lehnardt

Senator, S.J. Quinney College of Law
 elehnardt@asuu.utah.edu

Ben Lehnardt

Senator, S.J. Quinney College of Law
 elehnardt@asuu.utah.edu

Connor Leeming

Senator, Undergraduate Studies
 cleeming@asuu.utah.edu

Connor Leeming

Senator, Undergraduate Studies
 cleeming@asuu.utah.edu