Executive Branch

Executive Branch

The ASUU Student Government’s presidency and eleven boards help oversee many of the resources, programs, initiatives, and events that the ASUU Student Government runs. Below is a brief description of each board.

ASUU Presidency


The ASUU Presidency is composed of the Student Body President, the Vice President of University Relations, the Vice President of Student Relations, and the Chief of Staff. The Chief of Staff is additionally supported by the Deputy Chiefs of Staff. The ASUU Presidency is tasked with both representing the student body to the University administration and overseeing the executive branch to ensure operational success.

Anna Barnes

President
 abarnes@asuu.utah.edu

Amanda Carrasco

Chief of Staff
 acarrasco@asuu.utah.edu

Gabriel Martinez

Vice President of Student Relations
 gmartinez@asuu.utah.edu

Caroline Ranger

Deputy Chief of Staff
 cranger@asuu.utah.edu

Latifa Yaqoobi

Vice President of University Relations
 lyaqoobi@asuu.utah.edu

Campus Events Board


The Campus Events Board brings high-quality concerts, films, speakers, and performing artists to the University of Utah campus. These events provide students with free entertainment, insightful dialogue, and open discussion from a trustworthy source.

Matthew Irwin

Campus Events Director
 mIrwin@asuu.utah.edu

Cynthia Grissom

CEB Concerts Chair
 cgrissom@asuu.utah.edu

Andrew Stender

CEB Films Vice Chair
 astender@asuu.utah.edu

Avery Abelhouzen

CEB Special Events Chair
 aabelhouzen@asuu.utah.edu

Breanna Mears

CEB Associate Director
 bmears@asuu.utah.edu

Vacant

CEB Concerts Vice Chair

Brock Coleman

CEB Speakers Chair
 bcoleman@asuu.utah.edu

Parker Groneman

CEB Special Events Chair
 pgroneman@asuu.utah.edu

Gwen Trapp

CEB Associate Director
 gtrapp@asuu.utah.edu

Jacob Young

CEB Films Chair

Harini Srinivasan

CEB Speakers Vice Chair
 hsrinivasan@asuu.utah.edu

Diversity Board


The Diversity Board’s primary mission is to provide a platform of support to those underrepresented in the student body. The intention of the board is to normalize an inclusive environment by providing and sponsoring a variety of symposiums surrounding diversity. The Board acknowledges the intersectional identities each individual holds and vows to continuously learn and be receptive to the needs of the underrepresented students at the University of Utah. The Board promises to be a resource of education as well as an example for participation towards a more inclusive and socially informed environment.

Shayma Salih

Diversity Director
 ssalih@asuu.utah.edu

Sanila Math

Diversity Associate Director
 smath@asuu.utah.edu

Krystal Bustamante

Diversity Associate Director
 kbustamante@asuu.utah.edu

Abdul Osman

Diversity Associate Director
 aosman@asuu.utah.edu

Elections Board


The Elections Board organizes and oversees the annual ASUU Student Government elections. The Board strives to ensure a fair, transparent, and equitable elections process for all the candidates. It also works hard to encourage students to run in the elections and to vote during Elections Week. The Elections Board additionally helps with the transition process between ASUU Administrations and puts on the annual ASUU Inauguration.

Audrey Stegman

Elections Director
 astegman@asuu.utah.edu

Torri Peck

Elections Associate Director
 tpeck@asuu.utah.edu

Finance Board


The Finance Board oversees and helps administer the ASUU budget. In addition to helping each incoming ASUU administration develop and pass their budget, the Board helps the other executive branch boards spend their money in a fiscally responsible and sustainable way. The Board also works with the ASUU Assembly and Senate Treasurers to set financial guidelines and procedures, which helps the legislative branch to responsibly and appropriate their allocated budgets.

Lexi Hoggan

Finance Director
 hoggan@asuu.utah.edu

Nick Tygesen

Finance Assistant Director
 ntygesen@asuu.utah.edu

First Year Council


First Year Council is designed to help first-year students have a successful and impactful first year at the University of Utah. FYC is dedicated to informing first year students about the resources available to them on campus in an effort to integrate them into the campus community. FYC is also designed to foster leadership and team building skills. Each year, FYC is comprised of about thirty students who will help meet the needs of other first year students on campus, serve the student body, build essential skills for being successful during their time at the University of Utah, and, most importantly, find a network of friends that allows them to make their first year experience amazing!

Quincy Parkes

First Year Council Director
 qparkes@asuu.utah.edu

Ephraim Kum

First Year Council Associate Director
 ekum@asuu.utah.edu

Government Relations Board


The Government Relations Board is engaged in various aspects of local, state, and national politics. The Board is committed to informing, involving, and connecting students with any civic opportunities available to them. The Board plays an especially active role in registering students to vote, educating students about political candidates and topics, and lobbying for University of Utah students during the annual Utah legislative session

Sierra McNiel

Government Relations Director
 smcniel@asuu.utah.edu

Sierra Marty

Government Relations Associate Director
 smarty@asuu.utah.edu

Lauren Harvey

Government Relations Associate Director
 lharvey@asuu.utah.edu

Marketing Board


The Marketing Board market and brand all events, initiatives, and programs that are organized by the ASUU Student Government. The Marketing Board designs and distributes marketing materials for general marketing campaigns and for specific events hosted by different boards. This marketing helps to promote events, outreach to the student body, and highlight current initiatives.

Arielle Lupo

Marketing Director
 alupo@asuu.utah.edu

Dan Ehlert

Marketing Graphics Designer
 dehlert@asuu.utah.edu

Nate Leishman

Marketing Photographer
 nleishman@asuu.utah.edu

Anthony Do

Marketing Associate Director
 ado@asuu.utah.edu

Anthony Khong

Marketing Graphics Designer
 akhong@asuu.utah.edu

Pham Vu

Marketing Associate Director
 pvu@asuu.utah.edu

Kayla Kingsley

Marketing Graphics Designer
 kkingsley@asuu.utah.edu

Student Immersion and Outreach


The Student Immersion and Outreach Board strives to meet the needs of the University’s students who are over the age of 25, married, have children, are pursuing a graduate degree, are veterans, are returning students, and/or are international students. The board provides programs and resources that help make student life easier and more enjoyable for these nontraditional populations. The goal of the Board is to be a presence of support and community for nontraditional students. Whether that is through connecting students to various services or getting involved in activities and events, the Board aims to make the nontraditional student experience here at the University a rewarding and memorable one.

Dallas Blackburn

Student Immersion and Outreach Director
 blackburn@asuu.utah.edu

Kelly Mai

Student Immersion and Outreach Associate Director
 kmai@asuu.utah.edu

Student Resources Board


The Student Resources Board is dedicated to being an outlet for students in need. The Board advocates and provides resources for all students in need of unbiased assistance, including: legal referrals, emergency loans, University of Utah academic and behavioral issues, sexual violence, intimate partner violence, renter’s issues, food insecurity, and miscellaneous advice. Providing a safe and private environment for all students seeking resources, student advocates will work to solve problems in-house and connect students with organizations in order to allow them to make the University of Utah a more conducive educational environment. The Student Resources Board also organizes and maintains all UCard-associated discounts at local businesses.

Vacant

Student Services Chair for the Student Resources Board

Shelby Cattani

Director for the Student Resources Board
 scattani@asuu.utah.edu

Cody Orton

Wellness Chair for the Student Resources Board
 corton@asuu.utah.edu

Sustainability Board


The Sustainability Board seeks to make the University campus more sustainable through student involvement. The Board puts on its own sustainability programs like Recycle Rice Eccles, provides a student voice and other support to the University’s Office of Sustainability, and advocates for students to University Administrators. The Board also strives to promote sustainability internally, supporting the ASUU Student Government’s push to become a Green Certified Office and helping other boards to follow sustainable practices.

Claudia Weise

Sustainability Director
 cweise@asuu.utah.edu